The Brantford Red Sox claimed the Intercounty Baseball League
championship on Friday night, downing the London Majors 8-2 in the
seventh and deciding game of the IBL’s championship series.

Mike Meyers picked up the win on the mound and the Red Sox broke open
the game with two runs in the sixth, seventh and eighth innings, pounding
out 11 hits en route to the win.

It was Brantford’s second IBL championship in three years as they
eliminated the Majors in the playoffs for the third straight year. The Red Sox
lost the finals in seven games to the Toronto Maple Leafs last season.

Meyers went 5 2/3 innings, allowing two runs on nine hits with six
strikeouts and three walks. Jon Ogiltree came on in relief and was brilliant
over the final 3 1/3 innings, allowing just one hit with two strikeouts and no
walks to earn the save.

Lee Delfino hit a two-run homer in the seventh and Al Stephens belted a two-
run homer in the eighth inning for the Red Sox, and both had two hits. Josh
McCurdy also had two hits for Brantford.

London failed to capture its first IBL title since 1975 with the loss, the first
time the home team had lost in the series.

Loser Josh Palmer went six innings for the Majors, allowing four ruins on
eight hits with four strikeouts and one walk. Mike Mitro pitched the seventh
and Medhi Djebbar finished up for London.

Jess Bechard and Vince Burke both had three hits for the Majors, while Jeff
Helps added a pair of hits.

London"s Jeff Helps was named the 2008 IBL Playoff MVP. Helps was the
top hitter in the playoffs, leading all hitters in batting average, and was a big
reason the Majors advanced to the finals after winning the pennant in the
regular season.
Red Sox Win 2nd IBL Title in Three Years